top of page

My Daddy is Coming !! My Daddy is Coming !! (A Sermon Excerpt)

When I was a young boy my Dad bought a BB-gun for my brother and I. It wasn't out of the ordinary for us to have a gun, for dad was always teaching us about weapons, and allowing us to shoot real pistols and rifles.

Dad's instruction to us was to never shoot at any person, at anyone's cars or windows, and certainly not at anyone's pets. Dad knew that we could hold our own in the woods, and that both of us were pretty good shots, but he wanted us to be careful in the neighborhood.

One day my brother Rick, our friend Leo, and I, had gone down to the neighborhood store to buy some treats. While we were there a man who lived on the next block over from us came to the store, and when he saw us sitting there, he immediately began to accuse us of shooting out a window in his house.

The man was really irate, he was all in our little faces, and swearing at us. To say we were afraid would be putting it mildly. My brother remembered that dad was at home, and he ran for all he was worth up the pathway, and up the hill to our house to get dad. Lucky for us dad had not left for work.

In what seemed to be forever on one hand, and no time at all on the other, I looked up at the top of the hill on the road leading to the store and I saw my dad's car speeding down the hill towards us, and even though he had not reached us, I began to sing with joy on the inside, "My Daddy is Coming, My Daddy is Coming."

My dad jumped out of his car before it came to a complete stop, dad was fighting mad. Dad grabbed that man by the collar, and began to make him know, in no uncertain terms, that we were his sons, and no one would intimidate us, and curse at us. Dad told that man if we were wrong or had done wrong, to bring us to him, and he would get to the truth. If we were wrong, he would make us pay a restitution for the window, but that man, or any other man, would ever be allowed to harass us or intimidate us, or question us outside of his presence.

My Dad's gone to glory now, gone to his eternal rest, but I always knew that whatever situation I faced, my Daddy had my back.

The good thing is that now I have a heavenly Father, who honors me as his son, and I am assured by his word, that not only is he my Father, he's got my back. So now, when the enemy comes in like a flood, when all hell is breaking loose, when I'm being buked and scorned, like David, "I lift up mine eyes to the hills, from whence cometh my help," and I give the enemy a fair warning, "My Daddy is Coming!! My Daddy is Coming!!!

We, as Christians, have the blessed assurance that whenever we call, our Daddy is coming to see about us. We must know beyond a shadow of doubt that our Daddy will fight for us. So now, instead of panicking and shivering in fear, we stand boldly in the face of our adversaries and remind them that we are children of the Most High God, and when we call, when we need him, we know, "Our Daddy is Coming."

I'm Just Saying

Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page