top of page

Keep Going !!! (A Word For My Granddaughter On Her Birthday)

Someone with an eye for the future, and an understanding of the complexity of life once said to encourage someone else, "Shoot for the moon, you may land on a star."

For many years of my life I held on to that quote, but that's not to say I lived it out everyday. Like many of you, there was a period of my life given over to foolish pleasure, and to the pursuit of happy-ness. Times that I refer to as my "Stupid Years."

Today, being my oldest granddaughter's birthday, wanting to encourage her, and be of assistance in bringing out the very best in her, I wanted to tell her those words, "Shoot for the moon, you may land on a star."

I thought about my own life, and I am reminded that life is good to me. But I had to suffer through a lot, I struggled often, I have been burdened beyond measure, and I have spent more time than I would have liked in the valley.

But I have also enjoyed the scenery from the top. I have had what I would call some mountain top experiences. I have traveled many places in the world. I have lived in fine homes, driven quality automobiles, worn the finest of haberdashery, and have enjoyed some semblance of financial blessings.

When I thought about it all, even after weighing all the negatives that happened along the way, I am proud to say, "I landed on a star." Through it all, God kept me, and I landed on a star.

But truth is, A star wasn't my original projection, desire, or goal. I was shooting for the moon. When I began to focus and redirect my life, when I got my head together, I was shooting for the moon.

As I thought about it further, I knew that I must render thanks to God for things being as well as they are, for it is only by His grace and mercy that I am still here, and still standing. But I asked God if a star is all there is for me, and God said, No, "Keep Going."

Harriet Tubman, helping slaves to escape to freedom said, "If you hear the dogs, Keep Going." "If you see the light from the torches through the dark woods, Keep Going." "If you hear them shouting, Keep Going." "Don't ever stop, Keep Going." "If you want a taste of freedom, Keep Going."

So, to my granddaughter, and to everyone who knows there is still more, even after you've landed on a star, I say, "Keep Going." "Don't ever stop, Keep Going."

Don't allow anything, or anybody to keep you from accomplishing every dream and goal that you have desired to achieve. You already possess all that you will ever need, everything is built into your DNA. The gifts, talents, and abilities are gifts from God, and through every struggle, Keep Going. Through every hardship, Keep Going. In spite of disappointments and set-backs, Keep Going.

Galatians 6:9, "And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we SHALL reap, if we faint not."

When you shoot for the moon, thank God for the stars, but don't stop until the moon is yours.

"DON'T EVER STOP, KEEP GOING"

I'm Just Saying

Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page