top of page

Sunglasses in the Rain

Yesterday started much like other days for me. It was a Sunday morning, and like all other days, I still began my day with prayer. As I rose from my bed, and greeted my wife, I went to my prayer closet to have some quiet time in the presence of the Lord.

I thanked God for watching over us, and protecting us as we slept through the night. I thanked God for waking us up that morning, blessing us with our portion of health and strength, and keeping our minds vigil. I thanked God peace, love, and joy. I thanked God for all of the blessings he has bestowed upon us, and for continuing to be mindful of us, and blessing us, in spite of us.

Then, as I quieted myself, I heard a voice. The voice began to speak to my spirit, reminding me of all the wrong things I had done in my life. The voice began to remind me of my days of struggle and hardship. Days when it seemed that my prayers never made it any higher than the ceiling of my room, and the many nights I cried myself to sleep, waiting and trusting God to move on my behalf.

The voice reminded me of a song recorded by Roberta Flack many years ago, where she said, "He was killing me softly with his song, telling my life with his words, killing me softly with his song, killing me softly, with his words.

My spirit began to plummet, spiraling downward, as my joyful and hopeful disposition began to shift to the negative frame of mind that the voice wanted me to feel. My smile was dashed, as I began to sink in my spirit. The voice had me going. The voice had made a sudden unexpected impact. But I knew I couldn't stay there.

Again, I called on the name of the Lord. I asked God to hear me, and I asked God to forgive me for allowing another voice to capture the reins of my spirit, even if it was momentary.

Then the Lord began to speak to me in a "Still Small Voice." He spoke to me in a voice of reassurance and encouragement. He spoke in a voice of patience and forgiveness. He began to remind me who I am, and whose I am.

He reminded me that I am his, that I was bought with a price, and all of my sins have been washed clean in the blood of the Lamb. He reminded me that I am saved, in a voice that released all of my fears and doubts.

Then he reminded me of my mission, my calling, and my purpose. He reminded me of the manifold blessings that has already been prepared for me, and in the words of David, "He restored my soul." Then, he allowed me to see things that are yet to come, as he spoke to me in the voice of my Future.

I hurriedly readied myself for morning service. It was pouring rain outside. And I walked out of the house with my sunglasses on. My wife asked me why I was wearing "Sunglasses in the Rain," and I told her, "I have seen my future, and it's looking mighty bright."

Ain't God Good !!

I'm Just Saying


Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page